The Intimate Human-Chimp Relationship

The theory that humans and chimps may be closely related to each other than chimps are to gorillas or orungatans has just become even more compelling. Our genetic makeup shows that around 98% of our genes are exactly identical to that of a chimp, however it is the crucial 2% that distinguishes us in our looks – i.e. the chimp has a full coat of fur whereas humans do not. The media portrays this regularly as “the humans are just smarter chimps!”

Experiments have even been done to show that chimps have a similar IQ ratio in mathematics to that of humans. And although human brains are larger, brain size has little to do with intelligence. Men have larger brains than women, but few would suggest that men are more intelligent than women.

From a biblical standpoint, all this is complete rubbish. God creates both chimps and humans separately and there is no such linkage genetically. Our makeup is spiritual in nature and has nothing to do with our genes. A religious activitist will say that man’s capacity to create art, to express himself in music, and to be able to be taught to think in these areas is not a product of our intelligence. Severely retarded humans frequently demonstrate extraordinary ability in these areas.

I personally follow both standpoints. I absolutely have great faith in understanding that humans and chimps have a deep relationship that boils down to similar gene maps, however each individual and chimp has personal uniqueness. And I believe that this uniqueness comes from one’s spiritual makeup. Science can argue that one’s uniqueness is due to genetic mutations but to my understanding, same mutations can occur to more than one person.

Spirituality is not at all religion. To me, spirituality is a sense of meaning and purpose, a sense of self and ‘that which is greater than self’ – my inner being. It is a way of living that emphasises a constant awareness of the surroundings whilst being absolutely present and whole in each moment. This spirituality brings out my uniqueness.

I am unique in that I have a varied interest in life – genetics, personal development, music, drums, spirituality and great awareness. I love to form effective relationships and this is another uniqueness of my being. I am a passionate musician; and although playing quite similar to various drummers, I’m still very different in the way I play. This is my uniqueness.

What is your uniqueness? What is your ‘personal identifier’? How do you want to be remembered? What is the one special thing about you or what you do that you want to stand out? I like to put ‘being unique’ as the need to exist for something different from anyone else. As you understand that you are fully unique, you will be able to fully appreciate other individuals for what they are and their absolute uniqueness.

Did you enjoy this post? You can now receive an email each time there’s a new post just by clicking here.

3 Responses to The Intimate Human-Chimp Relationship

  1. yahweh says:

    Some great wrap-up questions Kavit. We are all unique in our own ways. It’s sad to see people try to hide this and more so to watch others try to diminish or degrade anothers difference. I like monkeys by the way. They have a larger capacity for thought and connection than they’re given credit for.

  2. New Blog Showcase!…

    Welcome to the latest edition of the Showcase Carnival, where new bloggers are introduced!

    I hosted one of these a year ago, because of my blog anniversary. So I figured with this being my two-year point, I’d do it again. It’s a good w…

  3. […] Welcome to the latest edition of the Showcase Carnival, where new bloggers are introduced! I hosted one of these a year ago, because of my blog anniversary. So I figured with this being my two-year point, I’d do it again. It’s a good way to be humbled, after all–my blog SUCKED in the beginning, unlike the ones you’ll find in this post. (Don’t go look, my n00b “blogging” was just tossing up links. Not worth the click.) Point being, if you’re a new blogger and feeling a little frustrated by the lack of visitors, don’t give up just yet. If I can pull out of the basement with my atrocious beginnings and, um, occasionally offensive content, then you will too. Be sure to take advantage of all the things written by successful bloggers on how to increase your visibility, too. All right, with that, on to the Showcase! First entry is for Snarky Gossip, with Make Your Baby Stupid Even Earlier With BabyFirstTv. That’s right, BabyFirstTV. 24-7 programming for babies. :shudder: Once you take out all the marketing crap in there, it’s boiled down to this: BabyFirstTV will get that baby to stop bugging you so you can get some &$^% done. Okey dokey! Yep, that sounds about right to me. Well-deserved and well-served snark! And for you Brangelina and Tom Cruise “fans,” (heh) they aren’t spared either. It’s an equal opportunity snarky gossip blog! Next up is Awareness and Consciousness, written by Kavit Haria. He submitted three pieces, all of which are interesting. This blog may not be in the realm of blogs you usually read, but it’s relevant to anyone. First up, The Intimate Human-Chimp Relationship will be of interest to spiritualists and to those interested in the evolution/ID/creation debate, as he explores the similarities and differences between humans and chimps. He notes the uniqueness of the human soul as the crucial difference, and asks: What is your uniqueness? What is your ‘personal identifier’? How do you want to be remembered? What is the one special thing about you or what you do that you want to stand out? Nicely done–something that can speak to those involved in the evolution/ID/creation debate, without making it a controversial political issue. He also does this in the next entry, Death Row Lessons. While he does oppose the death penalty, it’s not the focus of his post. Instead, personal choices are, using the example of a wrongly convicted (and eventually released) man. The biggest message I was able to take away from his talk is “choices.” Juan put a lot of emphasis on understanding that each and everyone has a choice. He said he made the choice to forgive those who got him in their for nearly 18 years because it was his choice. If he chose to continue being angry, it would only hurt him inside and so his choice was to forgive. Finally, Kavit asks, “What would you want inscribed on your tombstone?” My message here is for you to live today as if you were told that you only had a few months to a year remaining in this life. Look over your life and ask yourself, “have I really achieved everything I wanted to?” If the answer is no, make a list of what you want to do, and commit to beginning that process of completion today. I’m really not doing justice to these articles; they should be read in their entirety to get the full impact. I took a look around the rest of the site, and found something that jumped out at me specifically–eek! Spring Clean your Clutter! (running away!) So I guess that means it’s time to procrastinate with that clutter cleaning and move on to the next blog… All right…oh, great. Just what I need, more time watching videos! (You regulars here know what I mean.) Slickhead has lots of ‘em. Here’s one I’d never even heard of! It’s Princess! (by the creators of South Park – Banned Episodes – Part One) Another video by popular (*cough, cough*) demand – Princess. By the same guys that bring you South Park (Matt Stone and Trey Parker). Take South Park, add some sexual humor, sprinkle a bit of Christopher Lowell and there you have it. Enjoy, part one of Princess. OK, lemme just give you a little warning for that video. That’s a mild description–it’s NOT for kids, folks. Very, very adult humor, OK? Don’t wanna see that? How about South Park – Trapped in the Closet (full episode)? Or a clip from the Dave Chapelle show? Possibly also written by Slickhead (I’m just guessing), My Mobile Phone Guide is next. It’s kinda like a Gizmodo or Engadget for mobile phones. Check out this phone: Expected features include: * MicroSD slot * 4Gb internal hard disk * 5 megapixel camera with Carl Zeiss optics, autofocus, mechanical shutter and LED Flash * VGA res camera in the front for video conferencing * 2.5 inch (240 x 320 px) 16 million color display * 802.11b/g for making VoIP calls, Bluetooth (ver 2.0), and USB connectivity * Runs on Series 60 3rd edition * FM tuner * Quadband (international) […]

Leave a Reply

